Since the formation of Washington FFI in the 1960s, our members and affiliated clubs have played an invaluable role in conserving and protecting countless acres of stream and riverbank. We bring people together in the vigorous defense of ecosystems and committed efforts to share the best in fly tying, casting, and fishing skills. Each year, the Washington State Council gives up to 7 awards for excellence in education, conservation and leadership to various members and affiliated clubs.







Of the seven awards categories 5 individuals are being recognized in 2024:


WSCFFI Fly Fisher of the Year

Neal Hoffberg for his tireless work in managing the Casting Affair events in 2023, as well as his extraordinary efforts on so many other different challenges the Washington State Council.

Washington State Council Fly Tying Hall of Fame Award

Aaron Culley received the Fly Tying Hall of Fame Award . Aaron is an excellent teacher, well versed in all tying variety of patterns. He, especially, excels at tying Steelhead and Atlantic Salmon flies. He volunteers at numerous events each year.

The Jimmy Green Memorial Fly Casting Instructors Award

Molly Semenik is the recipient of this award. Molly demonstrates and teaches the art of fly casting to 100s of people each year. In addition Molly mentors prospect FFI Casting Instructors as well as FFI Master Casting Instructors.

Pat Herdt Education Award (individual)
This year there will be TWO awards recognizing:

John Wendt, Randy Allen, these two very talented and dedicated individuals devote countless hours setting up various programs to teach young and old, beginners to advance participants about Fly Fishing.

No submissions were received this year for the Washington Conservation Award, The Mackay Conservation Award, and the Club Education Award.

Volunteers are the life blood of our organization. Please congratulate this year’s awardees and be on the look out for someone to nominate next year.